Search the Site
Create a Site
Read the News
Whats On

To formulate a local Partnership that aims to provide an opportunity for disabled people to meet, raise issues that interest them and where appropriate provide a collective voice.The Partnership is for the benefit of all Disabled people in the Wakefield district and the community they live in. The aim of the Partnership is to make disabled people aware of community opportunities and the wider community of the value of the inclusion of disabled people. The Partnership will address issues and work with local service providers, educators, elected members, traders, employers and community workers to improve the opportunities and lives of disabled people outside their home environment. Anything that disables outside the home, Leisure, transport, Employment, Education, services, Shopping etc., will be addressed locally. Education and transport issues will have a district impact. Its success will be as a collective voice.

The aim is to establish 6 partnerships across the Wakefield district by April 2008. The areas are: South East, Fitzwilliam, Kinsley, Hemsworth, South Kirkby, South Elmsall, Upton and surrounding areas. North East, Featherstone, Castleford, and surrounding areas. South East Central, Pontefract, Knottingley, Ferry Bridge and surrounding areas. North Central, Normanton, Altofts and surrounding areas. Wakefield Central and surrounding areas. West, Ossett, Horbury and surrounding areas.

2008 Partnership meetings The meetings for the South East Partnership at All Saints Community Centre, South Kirkby, for 2008, first six months, are: Friday January 11 1.00pm - 3.30pm Friday February 15 1.00pm -3.30pm Friday March 14 1.00pm - 3.30pm Friday 11 April 1.00pm - 3.30pm Friday 16 May 1.00pm - 3.30pm Friday 13 June 1.00pm - 3.30pm Meetings for the North East, Castleford - Featherstone and surrounding areas. Thursday 31 January 1.00 - 3.00 Chesney's, Featherstone. Thursday 28 February 1.00 - 3.00 Venue to be confirmed. Thursday 27 March 1.00 - 3.00 VTBC Thursday 24 April 1.00 - 3.00 VTBC Thursday 29 May 1.00 - 3.00 VTBC Thursday 26 June 1.00 - 3.00 VTBC Thursday 31 July 1.00 - 3.00 VTBC Thursday 28 August 1.00 - 3.00 VTBC Thursday 25 September 1.00 - 3.00 VTBC Thursday 30 October 1.00 - 3.00 VTBC Thursday 27 November 1.00 - 3.00 VTBC

contact : Stuart Bolton
Community Cohesion
Town Hall
Wood Street
Wakefield
WF9 1HL
Tel : 01924 305174
Email : sbolton@wakefield.gov.uk


Graphic version of this page